OOM #11 – The Little Shop of Horrors (1960)

https://i0.wp.com/www.screeninsults.com/images/the-little-shop-of-horrors-feed.jpg

Go on, go on. Pretend this went out the day it supposed to do and no one speak anything else about this issue. Welcome to the October Overlook Madness in its 11th day and today we have a “second” day. This is the second Roger Corman film that we will tackle in this marathon of horror films, and will be the second 1960 film that we will review, and I’m pretty sure that it won’t be the last one! ‘The Little Shop of Horrors’ (1960) is the movie for today after the curated space of Cinemassacre’s Monster Madness did a video on it for today, and you can watch it right here, and it’s a doozy, one that exudes love for the film and for its influence in the directors and the movies that came after it. What did I think about it? Well, continue reading and you shall find out.

I didn’t expect this film to rival the funny of the musical remake of ‘Little Shop of Horrors’ (1986), and while it doesn’t fully come together as neatly as that spectacular movie, I think the roots of the cult are here for sure, and I can understand how one could watch this movie and think of how much better it could’ve been with a lot of art elements that weren’t obviously present at the time due to the constraints of the filming itself: it’s known history that this was allegedly made in two days and a night, and that obviously avoids any kind of innovation in terms of how to tie certain sequences of the film together so they don’t seem to end on nothing. But this film is forefront honest about its intentions, it’s a small movie that wants to entertain, and it does so diligently, with jokes here and there and even a couple of sequences that verge on slapstick. And the plant Audrey, while not as impressive as in the musical (and I’m not glad that I watched the musical first so I constantly compare to it), it’s still a strength that manages to be creepy, with its yells so it can be fed, its hypnotic powers, and how everyone in the end manages to get some use out of it. Sadly, there’s not much else from I end that I can add, besides thinking that this movie has enough world and cultural propositions than most horror movies at the time, and while it’s not as great as the “great ones” from the time, it’s still an entertaining truffle that has more sense about the present when and where it was shot than most films nowadays.

7/10

http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/.a/6a00d8341c630a53ef01310f34a838970c-pi

3 responses to “OOM #11 – The Little Shop of Horrors (1960)

  1. I saw the musical remake first and then, in completist fashion, resigned myself to watching this . . . and was surprised to find that I preferred it. There’s something about genuine, as opposed to expensively emulated, cheapness that’s really appealing to me.

    • I obviously like the musical more because I’m a sucker for that particular kind of musical, but I absolutely feel what you say here. It’s a genuine movie, made out of stress and passion.

      • I confess I’m not that much into musicals in general — although I recently watched and lived the noir musical Blues in the Night (1941). How it managed to get largely lost in cinematic history I’ll never know.

Leave a Reply

