10DoO #7 – The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (2013)

by Jaime Grijalba.

This movie wasn’t nominated for best picture, so what is it doing here? Well, as you might notice, this feature is called 10 Days of Oscar, and we should review 10 movies, but since there are only 9 nominees for best picture, one space is left for reviewing an extra movie, so I pick the movie with most nominations that isn’t nominated for best picture, and this year there was two that could fit the bill, both with three Oscar nominations, one was ‘Blue Jasmine’ (2013) and the other was this one, and since I’m doing Woody Allen Year (will come back, I swear) and the movie will be eventually reviewed, I was left with this one, so let’s work it out. It’s weird to review a movie that is a sequel when you haven’t reviewed the original movie, that would be ‘The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey’ (2012) that should have its own review in the months to come, but right now as it is, it shouldn’t pose as a problem to do this without the previous information, as I’d prefer to take a look at the entire trilogy as a movie on itself, all of them one after the other. For me at least, there’s been no problem with the films themselves, I rate both a 10/10 so far, and I wait for the next one to have a full review of the whole experience. So, for now, a few notes:

· Yay, they kept Beorn, I liked the chapter of Beorn in the original book and the mysterious character that he is, and they maintain that.

· I adore the travels of Gandalf as a parallel narrative, and the appeareance of Sauron was unexpectedly amazing.

· The spiders, and how they talk, is maybe one of the most interesting additions to a mythology of Tolkien in a long time.

· As always, Peter Jackson includes or augments the role of the women in the films he directs, I love him for that, he seems to be one of the only directors to make great roles for women right now.

· The barrel sequence was the most fun I had in theaters last year, I laughed and I was thrilled all the way through.

· Smaug was amazing, one of the best scenes of the year, the coins, the animation, the voice, the chase and the fight, while unnecesary to some, was kept at the height of the action all the time.

· The cliffhanger was impressively placed, and I can’t wait for the next movie, I wish I could see the conclusion right now!

· The hate of some people for these new movies seem to be incredible to me, they just seem to hate the new stuff, or just the fact that it’s new, I hate them for that.

Leave a Reply

