Argentinian Cinema 2013 #12: Marea Baja (2013)

(Argentina 2013 73m) Cine Hoyts Parque Arauco

p Paulo Pécora, Jerónimo Quevedo d/w Paulo Pécora c Emiliano Cativa ed Mariano Juárez

a Germán de Silva, Mónica Lairana, Abel Ledesma, Marcelo Paéz, Susana Varela

One of the most interesting aspects of the choice I made this year to review every Argentinian film that came to me either on DVDs, theatrical releases or festivals or other ways of communication, is that I realized that it’s just as prolific, if not even more, than Chilean cinema, and at the same time, it’s also widely varied, something that Chilean cinema does lack. And while there are some failures the majority of the time than not, it’s always interesting to see some sort of intent going on, a style that was perfected and put forward above anything else, and while the style itself wasn’t really interesting, it made the film kinda watchable even if an easy target of hate for me and the majority of the people who end up seeing it.

It’s a shame, specially for this movie, because it has some elements that are really interesting and could really drive me into liking the movie, as well as having some imagery that I’d consider ‘mine’ in terms of filmmaking. There are tarot cards, an almost western-like iconography, a flood, a certainly nice enough cinematography, an outrageous performance that appears out of nowhere near the end of the film to balance things out of proportion, and a story about money hidden away, criminals and things of that kind, but in the middle of the Argentinian countryside. The problem is that it’s one of the most boring experience I had in a theater this year, I fell asleep for ten minutes and it didn’t make a difference, because I knew there was no dialogue and people were still in the same scene!

I know what you’re saying. Leave contemplative cinema alone! Well, no! There’s a difference between the contemplation of an image and just the elongation of its own capabilities just to extend the length of the movie, and while this movie doesn’t really have long shots, it does have long scenes with large stretches of silence, big gaps of moments that make no sense and in the end… boring qualities that bring a movie that could’ve been really good into a middle-of-the-bunch movie that has some interest for those who like these kind of films, but this isn’t for me at all, this is for a crowd that I can’t really understand, and I hope I never understand.

This is my last review of the Argentinian Cinema of 2013, I had many left to write and many movies to see, but I wasn’t able to comply with the promise. So, comments start now! The tribune is open to comments and suggestions. I’ll continue doing the cinema of Chile, as always, but would you like to see me tackle something else in the future? I’m not sure if I’ll continue with Argentinian Cinema, did you like it? Did you not? Do you think I could do this again but with shorter reviews so I can do all the movies I end up watching? Tell me, please!

For now, Merry Christmas, and content will continue all the days until the 31st!

6/10

Leave a Reply

