OOM #29 – Diary of the Dead (2007)

The madness of October’s Overlook Madness is finally approaching, as today I might say something in this review that I’d never thought I’d ever say in my entire life! As announced, today and tomorrow I’m tackling the two ‘of the Dead’ films by George A. Romero that I haven’t seen for this spectacular ending to a month of horrific films and horrific timing for them. I hope that you’ve been enjoying these that I’ve been doing. Today is the turn of ‘Diary of the Dead’ (2007), and you can see James Rolfe’s video review here, and you might read my thoughts on it below.

Maybe some people’ve said this before, and maybe I didn’t want to listen to them, but I’m going to say something I thought I’d never have to say: George A. Romero made a bad film. I guess you just need to see the image that heads this article, and there you have it, you know what kind of movie this is by looking at that? The main problem with this movie is the way that it seems to move from one subject to the next, from one tone to another, from this moment to the next as if nothing happened, as if nothing had a weight, as if nothing was important, is that an important message? Is that was George A. Romero was aiming for? A state of confusion where everything was the same, everything mattered and everything didn’t, the characters were disposable and the moments were interchangeable? Is that what he thinks of the world of media nowadays, the Youtube era of sorts and how it reacts to the people around them, how we react to the information that appears, how we should believe it, digest it, think about it, weight it, do we ever believe anything that is put up in any screen ever? If that’s what it’s going on I applaud George, he did it, he made the perfect movie about internet, everything is the same, nothing is real, everything is fake: the acting, the reality, the special effects… wow, I’m backing down on my initial negative review for this film, this is actually pretty interesting, to think of this as the most revolutionary movie ever made that speaks about our mediocrity as human beings when we’re connected to the internet.

I’m actually being serious though, I’m not being facetious, I’m being serious, I’m actually mad that I had such a negative response to this movie initially, but I think it’s the fact that this movie was directed by George A. Romero, but the camera isn’t directed by George A. Romero, but by the actors who are playing the interchangeable roles of the stupid film school students that are trying to film the zombie holocaust that is going on. That’s the main problem, it lacks an interesting visual style, and as a found footage film it’s one of the worst that they’ve looked, with no distinct style or form that would make it interesting in any way, in a sense, as much as an unintentional or intentional message this was, this also had a lot of missed opportunities in terms of how it looked. Now, even if I say that I’ve found myself surprised at how supposedly (and I think it probably is) clever this film is, I still can’t get out of mind how much of a chore this was to watch, how bad the acting was, how much of what happened didn’t matter, how the script was atrocious, as much as all of this was planned, as intelligent and genius the final thing is, I can’t avoid criticizing a movie that is, kinda objectively, bad, boring and thrill-less. I’m sad.

5/10

Leave a Reply

